Just another WordPress.com site

The Top Ten Metal Albums You Need

Top Ten Must Have Albums For Metal Heads:

This is somewhat of a touchy subject that is open for mass debate. But who better then me to tell you what to listen to? (This is in no particular order)

10.)Black Sabbath-Self Titled

This is somewhat of a cop out pick, but hey it is my list. If you are getting into Heavy Metal, you might as well start at the very beginning. Black Sabbath were the originators and their debut album is one of their best.

9.)Death-Symbolic

“Symbolic” is an album that doesn’t let up. The second to last Death album ever released, “Symbolic” shows what an amazing musician Chuck Schuldiner really was. Death continued to expand on the death metal sound they had created ten years before “Symbolic.” The album is as technical as it is brutal.

8.)Immortal-Sons of Northern Darkness

Immortal’s last album before going on hiatus in 2003 is quite possibly there best. “Sons of Northern Darkness” is a black metal masterpiece. It is catchy but still maintains that since of rawness that black metal albums should have. This album also proves that black metal bands can have great production on their albums.

7.)Iron Maiden-Powerslave

I had a really hard time picking just one Iron Maiden album. I truly love just about their whole catalog, but “Powerslave” wins out. Everything came together on “Powerslave.” There is equal mix raw and fast Maiden along with epic Maiden. A perfect blend so to speak.

6.)Judas Priest-Screaming For Vengeance

Another hard choice for me, as Priest has many classic albums just like Maiden. I could have put “British Steel” or “Painkiller” here just as well. Halford, Downing and Tipton were in top form here. “Electric Eye,” “You’ve Got Another Thing Comin,” and “Devil’s Child” are just a few stand out tracks on this glorious album.

5.)Megadeth-Rust In Peace

A thrash masterpiece. Mustaine and Co. simply got it right on “Rust In Piece.” There isn’t a dud on “Rust In Piece”, from “Holy Wars,” all the way to “Rust In Piece…Polaris” this album is all killer.

4.)Metallica-Ride The Lightning

Most would probably put “Kill ‘Em All” or “Master of Puppets” on this list, but to me “Ride The Lightning” is Metallica at their finest. I think it is a step up from “Kill ‘Em All” and not as overrated as “Puppets.” “Fade To Black” will always be one of my favorite Metallica tunes, it is still as haunting and impressive as it was the first time I heard it.

3.)Slayer-South of Heaven

Insert either “Seasons” or “Reign In Blood” here as well. They are all classics, but “South of Heaven” is probably my personal favorite out of the three. They couldn’t go any faster after “Reign In Blood” so Slayer slowed it down and the music became more aggressive. Tom’s screams, Jeff and Kerry’s solos, and Dave’s thunderous drumming all sound amazing still to this day.

2.)Mastodon-Crack The Skye

The newest album on this list. “Crack The Skye” deserves this spot simply because of it’s sheer brilliance. Mastodon have consistently released amazing material throughout their tenure as a band, but “Crack The Skye” is quite simply a stunning album from the first track to the last.

1.)Blind Guardian-Nightfall In Middle Earth

A power metal classic. “Nightfall In Middle Earth” is Blind Guardian’s masterpiece. A perfect power metal album which is a great introduction to the genre for any uninitiated fan. Epic, Powerful and Beautiful.

I do realize that a lot of bands and a lot of albums were left off of this list, but I feel that any self respecting metal fan should have these in his or her (who are we kidding….his) collection. It gives a great representation of metal from a variety of sub-genres. Everyone can find something they like in this list. If not, I don’t know what to say…

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Highlights Week 1 « Highlights of the Puma Press Blogs

  2. njking

    Dear TB, I would have went with Paranoid, it has Iron Man, many metal guitarists first song learned. Symbolic? If it has Crystal Mountain I’m there with you, if not Individual Thought Patterns, which ever one has that song. No Sepultura- Chaos AD or Machine Head- Burn my eyes? Iron Maiden-Iron Maiden, it has Phantom of the Opera and no Dickenson ( I hate that guy, despite his bad-assness). 6 and 5 are right on. Number 4- Kill ’em all guy. 3 is right on. 2 and 1, newer metal bands, sadly I would have opted for early Dillinger ( yes I said that). Also, no honoring of our local Flotsam and Jetsam- Doomsday for the deciever, listening to that it is all so obvious how Metallica tarnishes the good names of their revolving bassists. Thanks.–NJK

    September 9, 2010 at 7:37 am

    • I love Sepultura but they didn’t find they obviously didn’t find their way onto the list. I love Bruce Dickinson, I have seen Maiden live 3 times and he never ceases to amaze, although I appreciate Paul DiAnno era Maiden as well. I do enjoy Machine Head but Burn My Eyes and The Blackening are the only albums I really like by them. I also like Dillinger as well but most the new stuff. Ire Works is awesome. I never got into Flotsam and Jetsam…I only know them because of AZ and Jason Newsted. Thanks for reading!

      September 9, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

